California Governor Brown signed A.B. 2053 into law on September 9, 2014, mandating that covered California employers add anti-bullying content into their current sexual harassment training curriculum starting January 1, 2015. A.B. 2053 amends existing Section 12950.1 which requires covered employers, as defined, with 50 or more employees to provide at least 2 hours of training and education regarding sexual harassment to all supervisory employees once every 2 years.
Starting January 1, 2015, covered employers will also be required to include “prevention of abusive conduct as a component of the [sexual harassment] training and education . . .” The law includes a list of conduct that may be abusive.
More information on the new training requirement can be obtained at http://bit.ly/1xq0Hlx
Find out more about C2’s Employer Liability Management.