Effective January 1, 2024, the California paid sick leave minimum will increase from 24 to 40 hours per year. Paid sick leave will continue to accrue at the rate of one hour for every 30 hours worked. Employers still have the option of providing sick leave eligibility in a lump sum to avoid the complex minimum accrual rules. Similarly, employers may provide a comprehensive paid time off benefit that includes the mandatory sick leave, again provided the complex accrual rules are followed. No year-to-year carry over is required if employees are provided access to the full 40 hours at the beginning each year in a lump sum.
C2 will be reviewing the sick leave policies of our California employers and confirming compliance with the new law.