California Rewrites Independent Contractor Rules

On September 11, 2019 the California legislature approved a controversial new law that will influence the way businesses across the state classify workers.

The law will make it much more difficult for many companies to treat workers in California as independent contractors, and more difficult for businesses to hire smaller businesses.

Once the governor signs the law into effect, hundreds of thousands of workers across the state may be entitled to increased pay, benefits, and employment law protections. Many businesses, will need to radically restructure their operations or transform these workers into employees in order to comply with the law.

Minimum Wages Increase in Maryland, Oregon, DC, and Several Large Cities in California

As of July 1, 2017, the minimum wage has increased in the following states and localities:

  • Maryland: $9.25 per hour;
  • Oregon: $10.25 per hour ($11.25 per hour in the Portland metropolitan area; $10.00 per hour in nonurban counties);
  • District of Columbia (DC): $12.50 per hour ($3.33 per hour for tipped employees);
  • Los Angeles, CA: $12.00 per hour for employers with 26 or more employees; $10.50 per hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees;
  • San Francisco, CA: $14.00 per hour; and
  • San Jose, CA: $12.00 per hour.